Watch Live TV from Indonesia

State-run station TVRI held a television monopoly in Indonesia until 1989, when the first commercial station, RCTI (Rajawali Citra Televisi Indonesia) began as a local station and was subsequently granted a national license a year later. The first time the Indonesian public witnessed the demonstration of a television was in 1955, 29 years after its introduction in 1926, and 26 years after the world's first television broadcast was made in 1929. These first televisions were brought from the Soviet Union during the Yogyakarta 200 years anniversary fair (Pekan Raja 200 Tahoen Kota Djogjakarta).

Terrestrial TV started with the establishment of the first television station in Indonesia. Indonesia only has one television channel until the establishment of RCTI is a first private television in Indonesia. Currently, the major national free-to-air terrestrial television stations in Indonesia are TVRI, RCTI, SCTV, MNCTV, ANTV, Indosiar, MetroTV, Trans TV, Trans7, tvOne, Global TV, Kompas TV, NET., RTV, and iNews TV. Since Q1 2011 the authority allow (Indonesian) digital television simulcast with analog television in some area. Indonesia adopted DVB-T format but decided to change to DVB-T2 on 1 January 2012.

Subscribe to RSS feed to get the latest updates:

Subscribe to RSS feed